Delving For Donations

Glut of giving requests surface after the guilty verdict

Joel A. Johnson
2 min readMay 31, 2024
Text peek window from author's phone

I can’t be the only person who was bombarded with giving requests on the evening of the Trump guilty verdict! Within the hour of the news, my phone started buzzing with organizations attempting to capitalize on the fresh feelings that were triggered. Some experience the jubilation of witnessing a guy who seemed coated with Teflon due to the outcome of past legal cases finally having the book thrown at him. Others are enraged due to having imbibed the full measure of millionaire Trump’s victim mentality message. The strange brew of polarized perspectives was too tempting for vague political interests to resist mining!

Many of these texts are from unidentified numbers. These groups bet on the high emotions of their target audience to readily respond to random fundraising requests. Before I send any financial contributions, I verify the organization as tax-deductible. I also determine how strongly an organization’s goals are aligned to my personal beliefs. My donations aren’t driven by strong reactions to news.

Many of these texts are from unidentified numbers.

This text situation gives me the impression these groups operate by the player’s golden rule: Hit on every woman you find attractive because, while most will say “No!”, there will…

--

--

Joel A. Johnson

Family man, & creative who enjoys karaoke, poetry, & balance sports (skating & skiing). I focus on social justice. Writes for The Lark, AfroSapiophile, WEOC