My Sports Season Is Here

I pause for The Olympics cause every two years

Joel A. Johnson
4 min readAug 4, 2024
Olympic Flag | Wikimedia Commons Public Domain

I will root for my countrymen! I will plug into the spirit of patriotism that courses through the community! I’ll continue to honor the viewing tradition that my family established from childhood! My family was never into the customary sports seasons to which Americans subscribe. The local NFL team had decades of losing seasons to the point where loyal fans wore paper bags over their heads during games. The local NBA team had high hopes with strong league superstars, but then it moved away to Utah, of all places. Finally, even though our summers were temperate enough to attract a steady fan base, a MLB team never established itself. Thus, my urge to root for the home team remained unquenched through my youth.

View of Centennial Olympic Stadium during track and field activities | Wikimedia Commons CCA-SA4.0

Consequently, my family was drawn to the cyclical wonders of the Olympic games. We invested in the thrills of victory and the agony of defeat on display. We got to know the rising stars that emerged as well as re-engaged with the returning legends that extended their legacies. I was particularly enamored with FloJo’s elite sprinting skills and fashion statements. I was crushed by her sudden death. Her impact on the Olympic…

--

--

Joel A. Johnson

Family man, & creative who enjoys karaoke, poetry, & balance sports (skating & skiing). I focus on social justice. Writes for The Lark, AfroSapiophile, WEOC